Password Hashing Competition


On July 20th, 2015 we announced Argon2 as a basis for the final PHC winner. Moreover, we gave special recognition to Final versions of the winner and special recognitions will be developed jointly with the designers, with public discussions carried out on the PHC mailing list.

Finalists were announced on December 8, 2014 and are (in alphabetical order): Argon, battcrypt, Catena, Lyra2, Makwa, Parallel, POMELO, Pufferfish, yescrypt. Rationale for this selection are documented in a status report, first published on February 3, 2015.

24 initial submissions were accepted in April 2014. The packages available for download include a subdirectory containing the submission received (with documentation and source code) and a text file info containing the name of the submitted algorithms and contact information of the authors. Versions are numbered from v0 (version at the time of the submission deadline), to v1, v2, etc. A direct link to the specifications is also available. A wiki provides more information on the submissions.

Name Downloads Designer(s)
AntCrypt v0 PDF Markus Duermuth, Ralf Zimmerman
Argon and Argon2 v3 PDF Alex Biryukov, Dmitry Khovratovich
battcrypt v0 PDF Steve Thomas
Catena v5 PDF Christian Forler, Stefan Lucks, Jakob Wenzel
Catfish Bo Zhu, Xinxin Fan, Qi Chai, Guang Gong
Centrifuge v0 PDF Rafael Alvarez
EARWORM v0 PDF Daniel Franke
Gambit v1 PDF Krisztián Pintér
Lanarea v0 PDF Haneef Mubarak
Lyra2 v3 PDF Marcos A. Simplicio Jr, Leonardo C. Almeida, Ewerton R. Andrade, Paulo C. F. dos Santos, Paulo S. L. M. Barreto
M3lcrypt Isaiah Paul Makwakwa
Makwa v1 PDF Thomas Pornin
MCS_PHS v2 PDF Mikhail Maslennikov
Omega Crypt v0 PDF Brandon Enright
Parallel v1 PDF Steve Thomas
PolyPassHash v1 PDF Justin Cappos, Santiago Torres Arias
POMELO v3 PDF Hongjun Wu
Pufferfish v1 PDF Jeremi Gosney
RIG v2 PDF Donghoon Chang, Arpan Jati, Sweta Mishra, Somitra Kumar Sanadhya
Schvrch v0 PDF Rade Vuckovac
Tortuga v0 PDF Teath Sch
TwoCats v0 PDF Bill Cox
Yarn v2 PDF Evgeny Kapun
yescrypt v1 PDF Alexander Peslyak